Hits: 7329

Dr Jayshree Mehta, former vice-chancellor of Vadodara's Sumandeep Vidyapeeth, was elected unopposed president of the Medical Council of India (MCI) at the general body meeting of the apex body in New Delhi on Tuesday. Dr C V Bhirmanandham was elected vice-president, according to the election result posted on the MCI's official website on Tuesday.

Dr Mehta is the first woman president of MCI in 80 years of its existence. While in government service, she was professor and head of the department of surgery at SSG Hospital. Considered a loyal associate of former MCI president Dr Ketan Desai, Dr Mehta is known for her image as a strict disciplinarian, according to sources close to her.

Jayshree Mehta Elected First Woman President of MCI

The general body election of the MCI for the posts of president, vice-president, members of the executive committee and post-graduate medical education committee was conducted on Tuesday. The elected government nominees are Dr Baldev Singh Aulakh, Dt G B Gupta and Dr V N Jindal.

The members of the university constituency are Dr Anil Mahajan, Dr Venkatesh Kakollu, Dr Vijay Prakash Singh and Dr Radhamadhab Tripathy.

The Registered Medical Graduate Constituency members include Dr Ravindra H N and Dr K K Gupta. The Post-graduate Medical Education Committee has Dr Dhruba Jyoti Borah, Dr Deelip Govindrao Mhaisekar and Dr Rani Bhaskaran as its members, according to the MCI sources.

Indian Express
11 Dec 2013,
Ahmedabad, India

Disclaimer: The news story on this page is the copyright of the cited publication. This has been reproduced here for visitors to review, comment on and discuss. This is in keeping with the principle of ’Fair dealing’ or ’Fair use’. Visitors may click on the publication name, in the news story, to visit the original article as it appears on the publication’s website.